Top Ten Tuesday: The Most Unique Books I’ve Read

Top Ten Tuesday is a meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. Each week I will make a list of 10 books, authors or other bookish things surrounding a certain topic. This week, we’re talking about the most unique books we’ve read! 

The Song of Achilles of Madeline Miller // This book is a retelling of the Iliad. It’s told through the eyes of Patroclus, as he falls in love with Achilles.

The Book Thief by Markus Zusak // I think this book is unique because of the perspective. It’s told by Death, as he tells us about Liesel’s life. Such a  unique POV to read a WWII story from…

The Secret History by Donna Tartt // I can honestly say that I wouldn’t know how to describe this book, or recommend someone a similar one. It’s the story of a group of college students who murdered one of their friends. You’re reading about their friendship, their studies (Greek/Latin), their personalities, and why they murdered one of their own without any remorse. 

The Strange and Beautiful Sorrows of Ava Lavender by Leslye Walton // Magical realism. It’s just so wonderful and unique. It’s the story of Ava and the lives of her maternal ancestors. Let’s just say her family has quite a tragic backstory.

All the Rage by Courtney Summers // What makes this book unique is the way it talks about rape culture in today’s society. It’s unapologetic and honest.

The Upside of Unrequited by Becky Albertalli // Yes, I agree this is a very subjective choice. I chose this contemporary book as unique because it’s one of the first contemporaries in which I could truly relate to the main character. I recognized so much of myself in Molly. Only one other contemporary has really mastered that. So much of her struggles were (and some still are) mine.

Radio Silence by Alice Oseman // This is the other contemporary I was talking about. I love this story about an introvert girl with passions. A beautiful story doesn’t always have to be centered around a road trip, a bucket list, or a dramatic event. Most teenager’s lives are NOT like that at all. Instead, they are more like Frances’. 

This Is Where it Ends by Marieke Nijkamp // A story covering only 54 minutes? That seemed pretty unique to me. I always wondered how the author would manage to make us care about these characters in so little time. With so little chance of growth. But I was all in, after the first few pages.

Annihilation (Southern Reach #1) by Jeff Vandermeer // This is a unique science fiction story, or at least in my opinion. It’s also incredibly weird. The story is told by the biologist. None of the women in the field experiment/trip actually are addressed by name. They are all just named after their profession, which removes the human connection you create with a character.

Night Film by Marisha Pessl // This is a murder mystery, with pictures, autopsy files and websites included in the book. It kind of feels like you’re trying to figure things out alongside them? As if you’re one of the investigators.


So those are my picks! I know that you probably won’t agree with all of them, but I’d love to hear your thoughts 🙂

43 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: The Most Unique Books I’ve Read

  1. I LOVED how All the Rage discussed rape culture. One of the most realistic approaches I’ve ever encountered on the subject which was fabulous.

    I also think that The Book Thief wouldn’t be the book it is if it wasn’t told by Death. It was refreshing but also adds something to the story you wouldn’t get otherwise.

    Like

  2. Great post. I flew through VanderMeer’s Southern Reach trilogy,! It was definitely the strangest, most thrilling series I’ve read in a while. Can’t wait to see Annihilation on the big screen!!

    Like

  3. Ah, snap! And you always have me on your side when you pick The Secret History, but The Book Thief is such a good pick for this week. I really want to read This Is Where It Ends and Night Film… they’ve been on my wishlist for way too long.

    Like

  4. The Book Thief was the only book on your list I’ve read so far, but the rest of them sound good! Your description of All the Rage caught my attention right away.

    Lauren @ Wonderless Reviews, I agree with your comment about The Book Thief. I can’t think of many other books out there that are narrated by Death himself.

    Here is my TTT

    Like

  5. I love seeing The Secret History on here. It’s one of my absolute favorites! The Song of Achilles and Annihilation have been on my TBR for far too long!

    Like

  6. I’ve read: The Song of Achilles, The Book Thief, Annihilation, and Night Film – great choices! I am really interested in The Strange and Beautiful Sorrows of Ava Lavender now. I had never heard of it until I saw it on your list. I added it to GR. Thanks!
    Rebecca @ The Portsmouth Review
    Follow me on Bloglovin’

    Like

  7. The Secret History is such a good one!! I should have put that on my list– that and her book The Goldfinch as well. I have no idea how Donna Tartt comes up with such dark, twisted, complex, captivating stories, but they’re all brilliant! Great list 🙂

    Like

  8. Love this post Jolien! 🙂 I totally agree with you with This Is Where It Ends, The Upside of Unrequited, The Book Thief and All The Rage. Your other choices are great too!

    Like

Leave a Reply

