Top Ten Tuesday: Non-Fiction Books I Recently Added to My TBR

Top Ten Tuesday is a meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. Each week I will make a list of 10 books, authors or other bookish things surrounding a certain topic. This week,  we’re talking books from X genre you’ve recently added to your to-read list. I went with non-fiction, so let’s get into it! 

Unfiltered by Lily Collins // I adore Lily Collins, so obviously I had to add her book to my to-read list. I also like the concept of it: her just being honest about her life, the things she has done and whether she regrets any of it.

Eat Sweat Play by Anna Kessel // I think I saw this on Ely’s Goodreads? Anyway, it sounded really interesting! I think it’s about women in sports. I’ve been meaning to pick sports back up this year, so I’m intrigued.

Worth It by Amanda Steinberg // From what I’ve gathered, this is a book about finance – more specifically, your finances (instead of just the general economy). This sounds quite interesting, and I can wait to see what she has to say.

Unbowed by Wangari Maathai // This book is about Wangari Maathai’s life as a political activist, feminist, and environmentalist in Kenya! Sounds like something I need to read, and someone I need to know more about.

Body Positive Power by Megan Jayne Crabbe // I love Megan, and I’ve been following her Instagram account for ages. I immediately added her book to my to-read list after the announcement came! I can’t wait to read it in the fall. 

Astrophysics for People in a Hurry by Neil DeGrasse Tyson // I don’t need to explain this one. It looks like an epic non-fiction book.

The Silk Roads by Peter Frankopan // I don’t think I have to explain what this is about? I have a very limited knowledge of the Silk Roads though, so this seems like the perfect read for me!

Genghis Khan and the Making of the Modern World by Jace Weatherford // Again, I feel like the title is pretty self-explanatory. I definitely need to brush op on my knowledge of Genghis Khan because I know only a basic amount.

The Inheritance by Niki Kapsambelis // This is about a family’s struggle dealing with Alzheimer’s disease. I’ve been interested in dementia and Alzheimer’s for quite a few years now, and have faced it in my family. So I want to read about a family who is going through this.

The Polygamist’s Daughter by Anna LeBaron // I am weirdly fascinated by cults, mostly because I just don’t understand. So I’m always interested in reading about someone’s experience with them. I find this especially intriguing because Anna was only a child.


YAY for my first Top Ten Tuesday in quite a while! So those are 10 non-fiction books I’ve added to my to-read list lately. Have you read any of these? Which non-fiction books did you add to your TBR recently? 

32 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Non-Fiction Books I Recently Added to My TBR

  1. I don’t usually read non-fiction, but The Polygamist’s Daughter sounds so interesting! I’m like you, I find cults fascinating since I just don’t understand them.

    Like

    • I started making an effort to read more non-fiction at the end of 2016. At first, I wasn’t sure about it, but I’ve been really enjoying it. It’s still not a huge % of my reading, but I’m excited to explore different topics. 😀

      Like

  2. I focused on nonfiction for my list as well 🙂 I’ve heard fantastic things about Eat Sweat Play so I’m looking forward to reading it at some point (even though I’m not sporty at all!).

    Like

  3. I’ve been trying to read more non-fiction myself, and I really like memoirs. Lily Collins’s book and The Polygamist’s Daughter look really interesting.

    Like

Leave a Reply

