Top Ten Tuesday: Favorite Father(s) (Figures)

Top Ten Tuesday is a meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. Each week I will make a list of 10 books, authors or other bookish things surrounding a certain topic. This week, we’re talking fathers! While I was looking through my shelves, I came to a horrific conclusion. I already knew many YA books, fantasy  books, etc. erased the main character’s family. But while looking through my shelf, I realized that when a parent is present it’s either the mother, or a horrible father. So I decided to call this my favorite father (figures). Some are actually fathers -whether biological or not. And some are people the main character could look up to -a bit like a father.

Hans Hubermann // The Book Thief by Markus Zusak // I am so in love with this man. If you haven’t read The Book Thief, Hans and Rosa take in Liesel. Hans is such a kind man, teaches Liesel how to read, and is just a person everyone can look up to. I love him.

Ned Stark // A Game of Thrones (ASOIAF #1) by George R.R. Martin // I feel like this is cheating a bit because it’s not like Ned Stark is in this story a lot? But I feel like he’s pretty much the only great father in this series? I love how much he adores all of his children. How he’s so proud of Arya, even though she’s not the “lady she should be”.

Shrewd (or even better: Verity) // Assassin’s Apprentice (Farseer #1) by Robin Hobb // I know Shrewd is not Fitz’s father (and neither is Verity). But throughout this trilogy, I think the loyalty and love Fitz has for him (/them) is similar to that of a son. I guess you could also place Burrich and Chade here.

Jeb // The Host by Stephenie Meyer // Again, Jeb is not Mel’s father. But I think that Wanda and Mel do look up to him like a father. That’s probably partly due to the circumstances of the story. Yet in my opinion, it’s also because of his kind, accepting and curious nature. 

Brom // Eragon (Inheritance Cycle #1) by Eragon // I probably should have put Garrow in here. Garrow raised Eragon after all. But in the books, Eragon said that he never had the privilege of calling Garrow “father” -Garrow was Eragon’s uncle, if you haven’t read the book yet. And the way Brom introduces Eragon to the world of Alagaësia, to the Dragon Riders, and the way he teaches him to be a good Rider and a good person, feels like a father to me. 

Keith Mars // Veronica Mars by Rob Thomas & Jennifer Graham // I guess this is more based on the TV show than the book? I do love me some Keith Mars though. He’s a single dad, a PI trying to survive in a small town where he used to be the sheriff. Raised an incredible daughter.

Mr. Weasley // Harry Potter by J.K. Rowling // Shout out to Arthur Weasley for being an incredible father, who raised kind and generous children -even though they don’t have much to spare themselves.

Gandalf // The Lord of the Rings by J.R.R. Tolkien // Yes, Bilbo is also like a father to Frodo. But I feel like Gandalf is kind of like a second dad to all of the little hobbits?

Lara’s dad -whose name I can’t remember // To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before by Jenny Han // I can’t really remember his name, but he’s an epic single dad. He just loves his girls so much! 

Simon’s dad // Simon vs the Homo Sapiens Agenda by Becky Albertalli // I like that Simon has such amazing parents. Both his mom and dad are hilarious -and have plenty of breastfeeding anecdotes apparently. 


So those are my favorite fictional dads! Or father figures. You know what I mean. Have you read any books with great dads? I’ve discovered a sore lack of them in my reading, so I’d love to hear some recommendations. 

46 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Favorite Father(s) (Figures)

  1. Ned Stark is a brilliant father! I wish he’d been in the story for longer, because I feel as though he would have been my favourite character at this point. Also, so much love for Arthur Weasley – he’s always the first person in my mind during father related weeks ❤

    Like

  2. Hans really was such a good dad! I haven’t read this book in so long so I forgot about him, but his concern and unconditional love for Liesl and Max was such a good example.

    Like

  3. I didn’t even think of Hans for my list but I keep seeing it on a ton of lists! I also have thought about reading Eragon, might have to put that on my tbr list.
    Great list!

    Like

  4. Don’t you hate when you can’t remember the name of a character or if they are ever given a name? Lara Jean’s father is so wonderful. If me list was a little longer, he would definitely had made it. I keep seeing Simon’s dad this week. Can’t wait to finally pick up the book!

    Like

  5. Awww, Brom is such a good pick for this list. I remember reading Eragon as a kid and crying for what felt like ages over Brom’s death. In fact, I think it was the first literary death that ever made me cry! Great post, by the way! I went with the opposite direction for my T10T and did Worst Dads 🙂

    Like

  6. Arthur Weasley and Simon’s dad would definitely make my top 10 as well! I love that you included Shrewd and Gandalf on here. In that case, I would also add Sirius Black. I really wish books, YA especially, would include more stories with functional and present parents.
    My TTT

    Like

  7. Keith Mars does not get enough love! I am rewatching the series right now and man, he is an awesome father! I had Hans Hubberman on my list too. I agree that Ned Stark is a good father but I am still mad at him for his completel lack of foresight! #victimblaming

    Like

  8. So many of us have mentioned Arthur Weasley this week for Top Ten Tuesday. I think it’s wonderful to see him getting so much recognition. 🙂

    Gandalf was a pleasantly surprising choice in your list. The more I think about it, though, the more examples I can think of how he protected and guided the hobbits. Good job there.

    Here is my Top Ten Tuesday.

    Like

  9. So many great dads and father figures that I completely forgot about *oops* I LOVE Keith Mars, he’s the best! And Brom was such a great father figure too! And Gandalf and his hobbits ❤

    Like

    • That’s completely true! I actually just made an edit to say that I would think Verity is an even better father figure to Fitz (maybe more of a brother though). He did make him an assassin, which is awful. But I feel like, I don’t know, he did take him in. Like he did with the Fool. And he respected Fitz. I do think Burrich is also a father to Fitz. But he made Fitz scared of such a big part of himself for so long (the Wit) that I can’t actually forgive him for it. I know why he did it, but still.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

