My #YALC TBR

I’m going to #YALC! It’s actually the first time ever I’ll be going to a Con, and I’m going alone. So I’m hoping that maybe some of you are going to, and I can meet lots of wonderful bookish people there.

When they first announced some of the authors visiting, I was so excited. V.E. Schwab? Samantha Shannon? Becky Albertalli? Laini Taylor? I’m in reader-heaven! But then I realised that there would be so many authors present. So many of them have been on my TBR for ages, and I’ve never gotten around to reading their books. So in an effort to read more before YALC, and actually being able to say something when I’m meeting the author, I’m making a small TBR. Let’s get into it!

Priority

 

A Quiet Kind of Thunder by Sara Barnard // If I’m not mistaken this is a book about a girl who is a selective mute and a deaf boy. Plus, when I had my little rant on Twitter on how there are so few great dads in fiction someone recommended this to me. So now I have to read it!

Wing Jones by Katherine Webber // I only know this is about a biracial girl who discovers she has a talent for running. I definitely do not, but I’d like to read about her anyway. I’ve heard such amazing things about this book! 

Rebel of the Sands (Rebel of the Sands #1) by Alwyn Hamilton // I’ve actually been meaning to read this one for ages. YALC is finally making me do it, because I’m the worst procrastinator when it comes to books. 

Smoke by Dan Vyleta // Another book I’ve been meaning to read for ages but never got to. This is about England, about a century ago, where you are marked once you commit a sin or are wicked. You’re marked by smoke pouring forth from your body. That sounds pretty epic to me!

Am I Normal Yet? by Holly Bourne // The only thing I know about this is that it’s a contemporary novel, and that it’s centered around feminism. Excited? Me? YES. 

Sorcerer to the Crown (Sorcerer Royal #1) by Zen Cho // To be quite honest, I couldn’t describe the synopsis to you even if I tried. But it’s set in Britain, with magic and British elite. Sounds interesting to me. 

Rivers of London (Peter Grant #1) Ben Aaronovitch // I’ve seen the cover of this book so often, but I never actually knew what it was about. I think it’s an urban fantasy novel combined with a crime/detective one? 

Wolf by Wolf by Ryan Graudin // I am so behind with this one. Everyone has read it by now, except me. 

Sofia Khan Is Not Obliged by Ayisha Malik // This is about a woman who is writing about the Muslim dating scene. I need this book in my life, right now.

 

If I Have Time

Strange the Dreamer (Strange the Dreamer #1) by Laini Taylor // Don’t get me wrong, I really want to read this one. But, I have read Laini Taylor’s DOSAB series. So I already have an entire trilogy to gush about and hopefully I can get a copy signed.

This Savage Song (Monsters of Verity #1) by V.E. Schwab // I’m in the same situation here as with Strange the Dreamer. I’ve read and loved her Shades of Magic trilogy and Vicious. While I definitely want to read this duology, I want to focus on the authors who would be new to me first. 

Ink (Skin Books #1) by Alice Broadway // In this world, every significant action and moment in your life is tattooed on your skin forever. While I do love me some tattoos, I would never want that to happen to me. But, it could make for a very interesting story!

Truth or Dare by Non Pratt // I have no clue what this book is about but I’ve heard incredible things about this author so I’m interested! 

Liccle Bit (South Crongton #1) by Alex Wheatle // This is one of those books I would never have picked up on my own. But it sounds really interesting! It’s about Lemar (Liccle Bit) who wishes he could do something to make life a bit better. Before he knows it, there is a gang war brewing and a gang leader has taken an interest in. To be honest, it sounds like a book I really should be reading. 

Lorali by Lauren Dockrill // All I know is that this is a mermaid story. I haven’t had the best of luck with those, but here’s to hoping. 

The Falconer (The Falconer #1) by Elizabeth May // The last in a line of female warriors born with a gift for hunting and killing the fae…” What was that? Female warriors? Fae? Murder? I’m all in.

The Accident Season by Moïra Fowley-Doyle // Another one I’ve been meaning to read for ages! Alicia (A Kernel of Nonsense) loves this book and so I must read it too. 

Tree Magic by Harriet Springbett // The first sentence of the synopsis states that Rainbow’s hands can shape trees at her will. I don’t even need to read more. Also: I’m pretty sure that with today’s environmental problems we could all use someone who can shape and create trees!


I most likely won’t be able to read all of these before #YALC. But I really want to try! I want to have a chance to read these books and then meet the authors. If you’re going to YALC, please let me know! I’m going on my own, so I’d love to meet some of you there. 

 

23 thoughts on “My #YALC TBR

  1. I’ll be at YALC too!

    You’ve definitely got to read Rebel of the Sands, such a great book! And you might want to bump Strange the Dreamer up to the priority list, not even just to have it read before you get it signed, but just because it’s so beautifully written, you’ll love it!

    Like

  2. Oooh, exciting! Rivers of London and Sorcerer to the Crown are EXCELLENT. Rivers of London follows Peter Grant, an average London copper who gets dragged into magic and the mayhem it brings with it, so yes urban fantasy/crime procedural. With added humour and diversity.

    I haven’t read The Accident Season yet (it’s on my shelf though!) but I’m recommending it because the author is Irish and I’m biased 😀 And I just added The Falconer to my wishlist a few days ago so snap!

    Like

    • Rivers of London sounds sooo great! Ooh, Irish author 😀 I somehow have gotten so attached to Ireland, even though I’ve only visited once? But everyone was so nice, and Dublin was so beautiful and I am convinced I need to go back soon and travel across the country.

      Like

  3. YALC sounds like it’ll be an amazing experience, and you have a wonderful list. I really enjoyed reading Wing Jones, so hopefully you will as well!

    I’m new to blogging and book reviewing, and I was wondering if you had any tips for newbie bloggers and book reviewers.

    If you have the time, please check out my blog @breenysbooks. I’d love any feedback. Have a wonderful day.

    Like

  4. Out of that list I have only read Rebel of the Sands (favourite read from last year) & Strange the Dreamer (favourite read so far this year) and I highly recommend both! Keen to see what you think about both!

    Like

  5. I’ll be at YALC too! Give me a shout if you need a panel buddy.

    You’ve got some great stuff on your list. I didn’t think to pull together a reading list, yikes!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

