Top Ten Tuesday: Series I’ve Been Meaning to Start for Ages

Top Ten Tuesday is a meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. Each week I will make a list of 10 books, authors or other bookish things surrounding a certain topic. This week, we’re talking about series we’ve been meaning to start!

The Way of Kings (Stormlight Archive #1) by Brandon Sanderson // I really need to read this… But it’s so intimidating! That paperback copy is like 1200 pages long and so heavy.

Insurrection (Insurrection #1) by Robyn Young // I’ve had the first two books in the trilogy on my shelves for 2 years now, I think. And I still haven’t read them. This is historical fiction set in the 13th century and it’s about Edward of England, and a possible Scottish civil war. Sounds intriguing! 

The Fifth Season (The Broken Earth #1) by N.K. Jemisin // I adored her Hundred Thousand Kingdoms and Broken Kingdoms, so I’m really excited to read more of her works. I still have to read the last book to the Inheritance trilogy, but I’ll get to that eventually too. 

Stormbird (Wars of the Roses #1) by Conn Iggulden // Another historical fiction book! I bought this book and the sequel in a book sale maybe 2 years ago and I still haven’t read them. Do you see a trend here? This one is also set in England but this time during the 15th century! 

Age of Myth (Legend of the First Empire #1) by Michael J. Sullivan // Michael J. Sullivan is one of my favorite authors. I wanted to read this book immediately when it was released last year, but I didn’t. I generally prefer paperbacks, and they first only had hardcovers and then the paperbacks were extremely expensive. BUT a copy is now on its way to me, and I will definitely read this during the summer. 

Red Sister (Book of the Ancestor #1) by Mark Lawrence // I still have his Prince of Thorns on my unread shelf, but this one just looks incredible. It’s about a girl called Nona, who was brought to the Convent of Sweet Mercy (assassin nuns!) when she was eight, bloodstained and accused of murder.

A Natural History of Dragons (Memoirs of Lady Trent #1) by Marie Brennan // This really sounds amazing. It’s about Lady Trent, a famous dragon naturalist. She’s basically telling her story throughout these books (which is why they’re called the memoirs, obviously). Dragons though!

Malice (Faithful and the Fallen #1) by John Gwynne // I have no idea what this is about. I know it’s epic fantasy, people love it and the cover looks amazing. I’m going into it blind!

Promise of Blood (Powder Mage #1) by Brian McClellan // The synopsis of this one starts with: “The Age of Kings is dead… and I have killed it.” EPIC?

The Red Knight (Traitor Son Cycle #1) by Miles Cameron // I have no clue what this is about. I know it’s fantasy. I know many people like it. I know I bought the second book during a sale. Still need to buy the first book though…


Those are 10 series I’ve been meaning to start for a while! Have you read any of these? Which one should I give priority to?

38 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Series I’ve Been Meaning to Start for Ages

  1. Some amazing fantasy here! A few of these are on my TBR already and I think a few more might be joining. Time to look a few up for more info. I hope you get the chance to start enjoying a few of these soon!

    Like

  2. Your reason for not reading Brandon Sanderson is my reason too. His books are SO LONG I feel like jumping deliberately down a rabbit hole, but I know they’re SO popular and my relatives are infatuated with all his books. Eventually I know I’ll have to read them.

    Like

      • ha totally get that! I’ve heard all his books connect together as well so I’m not even sure which ones to read first? Is this like a Shadowhunter Chronicles situation or can I just read whatever I want to?

        Like

        • I don’t think it’s like a Shadowhunters thing. I believe that they all play out in the Cosmere universe but that they all have a world inside the universe? Or something like that… I have read Mistborn and Warbreaker, so I didn’t follow a chronological order either!

          Like

  3. The Way of Kings I heard is really good…didn’t have it on my top ten list this week but definitely one I want to start too! Great List 🙂

    Like

  4. Great list, Jolien! The Fifth Season is amazing, I definitely recommend picking it up, and A Natural History of Dragons made my list this week, too. =) I got a copy of Red Sister via NetGalley but unfortunately I just couldn’t get into it – I don’t know if maybe the finished, edited book is a bit more readable for me? I hope so, because a book about assassin nuns is literally all I want in life. I think I’ll try picking a copy up from the library instead!

    Like

    • Thanks, Jess! Well, then I hope we’ll both enjoy A Natural History of Dragons 😀 Oh, I’m sad to hear that. It happens though. I think it’s great you’re still willing to give it a second try. It could indeed be the edits, or just the reading mood. I hope your library will get a copy!

      Like

  5. I did not know A Natural History of Dragons was part of a series! That’s gotten me far more excited about it… I’m also excited about Red Sister – I received a copy in one of my book subscription boxes earlier in the year, and though it’s vastly oversized it sounds very interesting.

    Like

  6. I agree, Stormlight Archive is so intimidating. I have the Fifth Season, and I read the prologue but found it confusing at the time so it probably just wasn’t the right time for me to start that book. I think I might start with one of her other series now. I think they might be easier to get into. 🙂

    Like

  7. Yeah, The Way of Kings is a massive book 😀 So is Words of Radiance! It wouldn’t fit in my bag so I could only read it at home lol. But I wanted the books on my shelf…
    Promise of Blood and Malice are on my list as well! 🙂

    Like

  8. A Natural History of Dragons is on my TBR as well (it sounds SOOOO good!) Brandon Sanderson books are so intimidating to me… I read the first Mistborn but it took me forevvvvvvver, lol! Great list, lots for me to look over on goodreads ❤️🌈🌟

    Like

Leave a Reply

