Top 5 Wednesday: Favorite Unlikeable Protagonists

It’s time for another #T5W post, and this one is all about unlikeable protagonists! I think this is such an interesting topic. I always thought you had to like a character to be able to enjoy their story. In the past few years, I’ve changed my mind. A character needs to be intriguing, but not necessarily likeable. Anyway, let’s get into it. As always, all the Top 5 Wednesday information will be in the description of my video.Β 

  1. Every single person in The Secret History by Donna Tartt
  2. Katniss Everdeen in The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins
  3. The Biologist in Annihilation by Jeff Vandermeer
  4. Dorian Gray in The Picture of Dorian Gray by Oscar Wilde
  5. Darrow in Red Rising by Pierce Brown

 

6 thoughts on “Top 5 Wednesday: Favorite Unlikeable Protagonists

  1. I am in total agreement with you on how I used to feel I had to love the main character so that I could love the book just as much. But it seems now that I can see past a main character and appreciate other characters more. And to not like qualities of certain main characters (they have their faults just like regular human beings). Some of them you just want to punch in the face for things they do or say, haha.

    Like

  2. I really need to read The Picture of Dorian Gray! It sounds amazing and I loved The Importance of Being Earnest by Oscar Wilde so I have no idea why I haven’t read it yet. XD

    Like

Leave a Reply

