5 of My Favorite Minor Characters

This was actually a Top 5 Wednesday topic last month. But since I was on hiatus during the month of May, I never really got to participate in this topic. I thought it was pretty fun, so here I am a month later with my 5 favorite minor characters. Minor characters are not the same as side characters: side characters still play a bigger role in a story than minor characters do.

Galadriel // The Lord of the Rings by J.R.R. Tolkien // I am forever bitter about Galadriel. I feel like she wasn’t included nearly enough in The Lord of the Rings itself -probably because she was a woman… I haven’t read the Silmarillion, and I hope she plays a bigger role there. She’s just amazing.

Nyx // Written in Red (The Others #1) by Anne Bishop // I didn’t know whether Nyx counted as a minor character, because this series basically consists of only main and side characters. Everyone gets a voice in it, which is why it’s so vivid. Nyx is a vampire, and she dresses in black velvet. Just because she thinks the stereotypes are hilarious -and because she wants her prey to know what’s coming for them…

Nightblood // Warbreaker by Brandon Sanderson // Nightblood is a sword. A sword with a desire to kill and maim. And it’s so hilarious, I laughed out loud several times while reading this book. 

Nymeria // A Game of Thrones (ASOIAF #1) by George R.R. Martin // Nymeria is Arya’s direwolf. And I love her.

Seamus Finnegan // Harry Potter by J.K. Rowling // I am intrigued by Seamus, really. Aside from his ability to explode anything, he also had some character growth in The Order of the Phoenix. From barely being allowed to go to Hogwarts to fighting with the DA.

11 thoughts on “5 of My Favorite Minor Characters

  1. I don’t recognize many of these characters, though I’ve heard of the books! Seamus is one I never really thought about but I totally see your point! Ahah I really need to pick up the other books on this list, loved this list!

    Like

  2. Galadriel was fantastic, and I wanted to see more of her as well. In general, women in LOTR are not as developed as the male characters. And YES to Seamus Finnegan. His character arc is fascinating and I would have loved to see more of him and how his skills change and improve. Awesome list, Jolien!

    Like

Leave a Reply

