Review: The Dragons of Nova

dragons of nova
The Dragons of Nova (Loom Saga #2) by Elise Kova

Genre: Fantasy, (New) Adult

Release date: 11 July 2017 by Keymaster Press
Rating: ★★★★★ – I adored it.
Goodreads

I received this book from the published in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion in any way.

I won’t provide a synopsis of The Dragons of Nova, as it is the second book in the series. If you want to see the synopsis and my thoughts on the first book, The Alchemists of Loom, you can find my review here.

 

break

It’s been months since I’ve written a review, and I feel like I’ve lost my touch. If I ramble in this one, I apologize. I’m pretty much always a rambling mess when talking about my favorite books though, so you might not notice a difference. As always, my reviews are spoiler free!

WORLD

If you haven’t read the first book yet and have no idea what this is about, let me catch you up. This story is about Loom and Nova. Loom is where the humans (and Chimeras) live, while Nova is the country/world of the dragons. Years ago, the dragons invaded Loom and conquered their world. Loom’s previous Guild system was adapted: instead of everyone studying at whichever Guild they were interested in, you now have to stay at the one you were born in. If you happen to be not-so-good at whatever that Guild does, you’re pretty much dead.

Dragons also possess magic, while humans do not. This is where the Chimeras come in. Chimeras are humans who have dragon organs implanted. This allows them to use a limited amount of magic. However, too many dragon organs will rot the human’s blood, and they will die too.

I really love this world. In the first book, we explored Loom and its different territories (each Guild has a territory). In this book we also get to see parts of Nova. As we explore more of the world, we also expand our knowledge of the world and different people’s opinions on it. For example, Arianna (one of the MC) hates the dragons for destroying her world. Yet there are other humans who argue that the dragons saved them. If not for them, humans would have used up every resource and died. I liked seeing the world through different people’s eyes!

PLOT

Obviously, I can’t say much here. However, I can say that this one did not suffer from second book syndrome. If you’ve seen one of my recent wrap ups, you’ll know I also read the second book in her Air Awakens series. That one felt mostly like a filler book to me, in which nothing really happened. That’s really not the case with this one! So much happened, and I was astonished by the time the ending came around. 

Honestly, there were so many surprises in the last half I spent most of my time thinking: “Wait. WHAT?” 

CHARACTERS

I’ll only talk about the main characters, so as not to spoil anything.

Arianna. I’m just in love with this woman. She is such a fierce badass, and I am in awe of her. But I wouldn’t want to come across her in a dark alley. I probably wouldn’t survive. 

Cvareh. I find Cvareh to be an interesting character! He’s a dragon from the Xin family, and in the second book we learn more about him and his family. The first book mainly focused on his character and who he really is. Now, family dynamics are thrown in. I am so fascinated by his family -and especially by Petra. There’s also more of a political aspect to this book, because the dragon society is very political and backstabby (I made that word up, I know).

Florence. I feel like Florence grew most of all throughout this book. I found her journey fascinating, especially when her views on the world were challenged. She’s a woman to look up to, that’s for sure. 

There are so many other fascinating (and utterly terrifying) characters, but I don’t want to spoil you on this story.

IN SHORT

I adore this new adult fantasy series. I really enjoyed the first book, The Alchemists of Loom, when I read it last year. I certainly wasn’t disappointed by the sequel. In fact, that ending left me wanting (and needing) more. I can’t wait for the third book because I need to know what happens next!

It was science, as Eva would say. And science existed beyond right, wrong, and fear.

6 thoughts on “Review: The Dragons of Nova

Leave a Reply

