Top Ten Tuesday: Favorite Reads of 2017 (so far)

Top Ten Tuesday is a meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. Each week I will make a list of 10 books, authors or other bookish things surrounding a certain topic.

 

Etched in Bone (The Others #5) by Anne Bishop // I don’t think this is a surprise to anyone who has been following my blog for a while. This series has been on my favorites list since I started my blog, and the latest installment is no different.

All the Rage by Courtney Summers // This book took me by surprise. I never expected to love it as much as I did, because I’m generally not much of a contemporary reader. But this book was so honest, brutal and angry that I couldn’t help but love it. It just sparked so many emotions in me. 

Assassin’s Quest (Farseer #3) by Robin Hobb // What an incredible end to the trilogy! It is by far my favorite of the three, and I honestly can’t wait to read more of her works. 

The Upside of Unrequited by Becky Albertalli // THIS BOOK. I fell in love with this book. I know this is one of the few contemporaries I will actually want to re-read. I just felt like I could understand Molly so well, better than I ever have with a main character. I just hope to find my Reid too.

The Exiled Queen (Seven Realms #2) by Cinda Williams Chima // I’ve read the first 3 books in the series this year, but the second one is my favorite. Maybe because I love school settings in a fantasy book? Anyway, if you’re one of the people who also hasn’t started this series: please do. I started reading it in January and was hesitant because I was afraid it wouldn’t live up to the hype. It did though. It did. 

 

The Game of Love and Death by Martha Brockenbrough // Another book that managed to surprise me. This is about Love and Death, who have been playing the Game for centuries. They both choose a player, and if they both fall in love and choose it above all other things in their lives, Love wins. If not, Death wins. Guess what happens then? This is set in Seattle during the Great Depression and the players are Henry (a white boy adopted by a wealthy family) and Flora (an African-American girl who sings in a jazz club but wants to be a pilot). 

Red Rising (Red Rising #1) by Pierce Brown // I’m late to the party here. Everyone has already read this -and its sequels- and I’ve only read it this year. But I really loved it. This is a science fiction story revolving around a revenge plot (basically). It’s epic. 

Hygge: The Danish Way to Live Well by Meik Wiking // This book made me feel so cozy and warm. It featured everything I love, and I’m now convinced I need to move to Denmark.

The Dragons of Nova (Loom Saga #2) by Elise Kova // I would feature the first book here too, but I read that one in 2016. I love this epic fantasy series. I liked her Air Awakens books (I’ve read the first 2) but wasn’t really blown away by them. These though… I just flew through them!

Radio Silence by Alice Oseman // Another contemporary. I feel like this year, I’ve really expanded my reading in terms of genres. This book is amazing. It’s the story of Frances, a 17 or 18 year-old girl in the UK. It’s the first story of a girl in high school where I feel like I can actually recognize my high school experience. Plus, the diversity here is incredible. Frances is British-Ethiopian. Daniel (a side character) is Korean. There’s bisexual, gay, demi- and asexual rep. Honestly, it’s so so so good.


Those are my favorite reads of the year so far! I’m excited to see what the next half of 2017 brings, to be honest. Obviously, I didn’t include any re-reads in this. I’ve re-read The Others by Anne Bishop, Inheritance by Christopher Paolini, Harry Potter by J.K. Rowling and Daughter of the Forest by Juliet Marillier so far. I love them all but I don’t feel like it’s honest to include them here. What are your favorite reads of the year so far? Have you read any of the books I mentioned? I’d love to talk to you about them!

24 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Favorite Reads of 2017 (so far)

  1. Have you watched the BBC programme Fleabag? Your comments on All the Rage made my mind jump to it because it features a main character who is angry and messed up and thoroughly, thoroughly engrossing.

    Like

  2. I’m so happy you’re back to blogging and making videos, Jolien. I missed you! Today, I am starting my first Cinda Williams Chima book. I always hesitate before reading anything new because of my anxiety. But, I feel encouraged to read her work because of your reviews and Annemieke’s too.

    ALSO I better read The Upside of Unrequited soon to fangirl with you. I love the author of that book. I need to save your database for diversity so I know what to look for in the library. *thumbs up*

    Welcome back to the blogosphere.

    Like

  3. Great list! I’m not surprised to see so many people including The Upside of Unrequited on their lists, it made my list this week as well – I adored it. ^_^ I still haven’t read any Robin Hobb and that’s something I desperately need to change, I will read Assassin’s Apprentice this year!

    Like

  4. Eep, so many of my favorites on here! Obviously Robin Hobb, but also All the Rage, The Exiled Queen, The Upside of Unrequited, Red Rising, and Radio Silence. Radio Silence was one of my favorites from last year!
    My TTT

    Like

Leave a Reply

