Jolien Recommends: Difficult/Taboo Topics

I’m here for the first time in a while with a recommendations post (and video)! I thought I’d talk about 5 books I’ve read in the past few years that deal with some difficult or taboo topics.

Forbidden by Tabitha Suzuma // This is the most taboo topic of all 5 books. If you don’t know, this book revolves around Lochan and Maya as they fall in love. The problem? They’re siblings. This book broke my heart. I know this is a difficult topic. Even thinking about falling in love with my brother makes me nauseous. But this book is worth picking up. It really is worth reading.

All the Rage by Courtney Summers // I’ve talked about this book quite frequently ever since I read it a few months back. I absolutely adored it. This is the story of Romy, a teenage girl and rape victim. This book made me both angry and sad. Courtney Summers wrote an incredible book. This should be required reading in every school because it not only deals with rape and trauma, but also with slut-shaming and victim-blaming.

Down From the Mountain by Elizabeth Fixmer // I read Down from the Mountain in 2015, so it’s been a while. But I thought this was a really interesting book about Eva, who was raised on the compound of The Righteous Path. So it’s a fictional story set in a cult.

This is Where it Ends by Marieke Nijkamp // This Is Where It Ends revolves around a school shooting. The entire story covers only 54 minutes, but I felt every single emotion on the planet while reading it. 

V is for Virgin by Kelly Oram // Maybe a weird choice to some? But I think that sex and virginity are still not talked about enough. And we still don’t respect other people’s choices enough. You want to lose your virginity at 16? If you are ready for it, that’s fine. You want to wait until you’re married? THAT IS FINE TOO. You know what? As long as it is your choice, every decision is FINE.


Those are my 5 recommendations of books that deal with topics that are either taboo, or not talked about often enough. Have you read any of these? Do you have any to recommend me?

6 thoughts on “Jolien Recommends: Difficult/Taboo Topics

  1. Nice list, Jolien. I haven’t read anything on it, but I’ve been tempted by Forbidden and This Is Where It Ends (primarily because of the condensed timeline, I have to admit).

    Like

Leave a Reply

