Top Ten Tuesday: Underrated SFF Books

Top Ten Tuesday is a meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. Each week I will make a list of 10 books, authors or other bookish things surrounding a certain topic. Today, I’m talking about SFF books I think are underrated. Either I don’t see them mentioned often/at all in the book blogging/vlogging community, or they don’t have enough ratings on Goodreads.

As a cut-off point, I’ve decided on 50 000 ratings on Goodreads. All these books thus have less than 50 000 ratings on Goodreads when writing this post. 

Daughter of the Forest (Sevenwaters #1) by Juliet Marillier // Ratings: 43 169 // I can’t believe how underrated this series, and this author, is. Juliet Marillier was one of the first fantasy authors I fell in love with, and I still love her works today. I’m currently on a re-read and catch up mission. I recently re-read this one, which is a retelling of The Six Swans set in Ireland. 

Stolen Songbird (Malediction #1) by Danielle L. Jensen // Ratings: 17 253 // It’s been a while since I read this trilogy, but I remember absolutely loving it. It’s about a girl called Cécile who gets kidnapped by the Troll King so she can break the curse they’re under.

City of Stairs (Divine Cities #1) by Robert Jackson Bennett // Ratings: 14 225 // This is one of those books that I really want to re-read one day. I have to admit that I struggled a bit with this fantasy book at the start. But after a while, I felt compelled to continue reading and just couldn’t put it down anymore. In this world, the city and people of Bulikov used to rule the world thanks to their Gods. The Saypur people were their slaves. Until the divine protectors were killed. Without their protection and help, the tables were turned. Now, the Saypur rule over them. 

Paladin (Paladin #1) by Sally Slater // Ratings: 4 508 // I know I’ve mentioned this in a few underrated posts ever since I read it in 2015. But this book only has 4500 ratings! So I have to mention it again. This is about a girl called Sam who wants to be a Paladin -who fight demons. The only problem? She’s Lady Samantha of Haywood. And Ladies just aren’t warriors. 

Fortune’s Pawn (Paradox #1) by Rachel Bach // Ratings: 9 437 // Rachel Bach (or Rachel Aaron) is another one of my favorite (underrated) authors. This is her science fiction, space opera series about Devi, a mercenary with a ton of ambition.

The Novice (Summoner #1) by Taran Matharu // Ratings: 11 496 // I quite enjoyed this YA fantasy one, but I don’t see many people talk about it. It’s sort of a mix between The Lord of the Rings and Pokémon? I just got the second book, which I want to read soon. 

Nice Dragons Finish Last (Heartstrikers #1) by Rachel Aaron // Ratings: 5 794 // YES, I WILL KEEP MENTIONING THIS BOOK UNTIL YOU READ IT. 

Theft of Swords (Riyria Revelations #1-2) by Michael J. Sullivan // Ratings: 36 981 // See above. I have mentioned this series countless times on my blog. And I will keep doing it until more of you read it. 

Sunbolt (Sunbolt #1) by Intisar Khanani // Ratings: 1 856 // Another one I’ve mentioned in some of my underrated posts before. This is about Hitomi, a young orphan who gets involved in some high-level political (and magical) shitstorms.

First Year (The Black Mage #1) by Rachel E. Carter // Ratings: 10 602 // This is one I read fairly recently. I quite enjoyed it. It’s a solid YA fantasy book, especially for the first book in a series. It didn’t really bring anything new and mind-blowing to the game, but I still read this book in one sitting because I couldn’t put it down. It’s a fun, enjoyable read.


Which SFF reads under 50 000 ratings would you recommend? Is there a book or series you wish people would mention more often?

7 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Underrated SFF Books

  1. I haven’t read any of these, but I’m sort of new to science fiction as a whole I actually own Fortune’s Pawn, and I’ve heard fabulous things. I’ll take a look at these others and see if here’s something here for me!

    Like

  2. Great list. Sunbolt made my top ten this week too. I just love the author’s writing.

    I haven’t heard of quite a few of your other picks but I’m not a big sci fi reader. Is there any you’d recommend for someone who likes the less techie type read?

    Like

  3. Aaahh Sunbolt ❤ I haven't read Daughter of the Forest in years, but I really enjoyed it (it helps that that was always one of my favourite fairytales).

    Like

  4. Theft of Swords is awesome indeed, and the series just kept getting better (heir of novron had me in tears several times). City of stairs has been on my Tbr forever! I really should pick it up. The other books look great as well, thanks for the recommendations 😁

    Like

Leave a Reply

