August Wrap Up

I only read 3 books in August… I think that’s the lowest amount I’ve read in a month in about 4 years? Yeah. Although I did read a lot of fan fiction! And some of those are like 60 to 90 chapters long. One of them was 91 chapters and 500 000+ words. I mean, that must count for something? Anyway, let’s talk about the books I actually managed to read.

Geekerella by Ashley Poston // 4 stars // I bought this at YALC, and felt like reading a fluffy contemporary in August. This was so much fun! I loved the twists on the classic Cinderella story -like the pumpkin actually being The Magic Pumpkin, a vegan food truck. I also enjoyed the discussion on whitewashing in Hollywood. 

The Gentleman’s Guide to Vice and Virtue by Mackenzi Lee // 5 stars // Definitely one of my favorite reads of 2017 now. I ADORED this book. If you want to read this as well, I’d highly recommend the audiobook. It really adds something to Monty’s voice.

The Hammer of Thor (Magnus Chase #2) by Rick Riordan // 4.5 stars // I’m slowly catching up with Rick Riordan’s latest books! Another one I actually listened to, and an audiobook I’d recommend too. It did take me a while to get used to the narrator though. Can I just say that I adore Alex?

Yup, that’s all I read in August. I know… Quantity-wise, not a great month. Quality-wise though, I’m very satisfied with my reading! I also managed to reach my Goodreads reading goal by finishing The Hammer of Thor. 


Have you read any of these books? Which books did you read in August?

4 thoughts on “August Wrap Up

  1. I’m glad you enjoyed the books you did read! I still need to read Rick Riordan’s new books too – I’M SO BEHIND. I hope you’re able to get more read in September – even though 3 books is great!

    Like

  2. I’m so glad you loved The Gentleman’s Guide! But I’m not surprised. I’m so glad we’ll get another book about Felicity!

    My favorite book in August was my reread of Assassin’s Apprentice. I can’t wait to move on to Royal Assassin! Here’s my August recap 😊

    Like

Leave a Reply

