Top Ten Tuesday: Ten “Older” Books I Love

Top Ten Tuesday is a meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. Each week I will make a list of 10 books, authors or other bookish things surrounding a certain topic. Today’s topic was “Throwback Freebie”. So today I’m talking about 10 “older” books I love. You can take older with a grain of salt here. I’ll be talking about some classics, but also some books from the 90s.

 

Jane Eyre by Charlotte Brontë // Published in 1847 // This definitely counts as an older book, right? I haven’t read many classics, so you’ll have to bear with me on this topic. I adored Jane Eyre though, I think it’s my favorite classic so far.

The Lord of the Rings by J.R.R. Tolkien // Published in 1954 // Who is surprised? NO ONE. 

The Secret History by Donna Tartt // Published in 1992 // This book is 2 years older than I am. That’s so weird to think about? I adore this book though, and I would highly recommend it. It’s about a group of college kids in New England who commit murder.

Assassin’s Apprentice (Farseer #1) by Robin Hobb // Published in 1995 // I wasn’t even 1 year old when this was published. Isn’t that absolutely insane? Robin Hobb has been creating incredible characters and worlds for my entire life.

A Game of Thrones (A Song of Ice and Fire #1) by George R.R. Martin // Published in 1996 // I wasn’t even 2 when the first ASOIAF book was released. I’m now 22 (at least for a few more days) and I am waiting for the next one to come out. Not-so-patiently.

Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen // Published in 1813 // Another classic I actually enjoyed! I know, it’s rare. I thought I wouldn’t love it, because it’s one of the most hyped-up classics ever. But I found myself actually enjoying it.

Charlie and the Chocolate Factory by Roald Dahl // Published in 1964 // I read this when I was a kid, in Dutch, and absolutely loved it. I haven’t re-read it in years though. How can you not love this story? As a chocolate-obsessed person, I am gutted that Willy Wonka isn’t real. 

Koning van Katoren by Jan Terlouw // Published in 1971 // This is a Dutch book, and another one I read as a kid. This is about a country called Katoren. 17 years ago, the King died. In the meantime, the ministers have been running (and ruining) the country. 17-year-old Stach goes to the ministers and asks them what it takes to become the next king. He’s then given 7 impossible tasks. 

Wise Child (Doran #1) by Monica Furlong // Published in 1987 // Another childhood favorite that I haven’t read in YEARS! I do remember reading this multiple times as a kid though. 

Gravity by Tess Gerritsen // Published in 1999 // I actually only recently read this one. It’s set in space (in the ISS) when a deadly and unknown virus breaks out. 


There you have it, 10 older books that I absolutely adore. Like I said, you should take older with a grain of salt here. Some of these are classics, others are about as old as I am. Have you read any of these? Which older books would you recommend?

5 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Ten “Older” Books I Love

  1. Yeay for The Assassin’s Apprentice and Pride and Prejudice, and Roald Dahl of course. That man wrote some great children’s books. Did you hear the recent news about Charlie and the Chocolate Factory?

    Like

  2. Great list! I loved Jane Eyre. I had to read it in college and it was one of those that I actually enjoyed reading instead of being forced to do so 😀 And I lived on Roald Dahl books as a child. Charlie and the Chocolate Factory is still my favorite though.

    Here’s my TTT.

    Like

Leave a Reply

